The Department of History offers an undergraduate Major and Minor in History, as well as graduate programs leading to a Master of Arts degree in history and the Ph.D. degree in Rural, Agricultural, Technological and Environmental History.

About the Department

The History Department at Iowa State University was established as a separate department in 1969, having been for many decades before that time a part of the joint Department of History, Political Science, and Philosophy. Since 1969, the Department has continued to offer both undergraduate and graduate degrees over a variety of national, chronological, and specialized areas of historical study. It is possible for undergraduate students to both major and minor in History, and for graduate students to seek the MA and the PhD degrees.

Department Changes

Three new colleagues joined the History Department over the summer.  Jeremy Best (PhD Maryland) works on modern European and African history, Michael Christopher Low (PhD Columbia) works on the modern Middle East, and Amy Rutenberg (PhD Maryland) works on twentieth-century US history and will help run the department’s social studies education program. Check back soon for upcoming web pages for these new professors!

The Department is also undergoing a transition in leadership.  Professor Pamela Riney-Kehrberg has stepped down as Department chair.  Professor Michael Bailey will serve as interim chair for one year.

Quick Links


Academic Advising

History Major

Four-Year Plans

Graduate Programs

Outcomes Assessment (PDF)

150 Fascinating People

Governance Document.rev May 16 (PDF)